Skip Navigation
Banner Image
Image for HCPS magnet programs receive top honors
Congratulations to our 20 magnet programs who recently received top honors

HCPS magnet programs receive top honors

September 03, 2015

Magnet Schools of America (MSA) has recognized Hillsborough County public magnet schools and programs as Magnet Schools of Excellence or Magnet Schools of Distinction. Magnet schools and programs offer students an opportunity to discover their talents and explore their interests in a rigorous academic setting.

The Magnet Schools of Merit Awards recognize member magnet schools/programs that demonstrate the ability to raise student academic achievement, promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and instruction, and create community partnerships that enhance the school’s theme.

There are two categories of awards: (1) Magnet Schools of Excellence, the top category, is awarded to a group of select magnet schools, and (2) Magnet Schools of Distinction, the second highest award of recognition. Schools submit an application and it is scored by a panel of educators.

Magnet Schools of Excellence: Lee and Philip Shore elementary magnet schools; Boys Preparatory Academy Franklin; and Armwood High School.

Magnet Schools of Distinction: Cahoon, Dunbar, Lincoln, Lomax, MacFarlane Park, and Muller elementary magnet schools; Girls Preparatory Academy Ferrell, Orange Grove, Sligh, Stewart, Williams, and Young middle magnet schools; Rampello Downtown Partnership K-8 School and Roland Park K-8 School; and Jefferson and Leto high schools.

            Hillsborough County Public Schools is home to 10 elementary schools, 10 middle schools, 11 high schools, and 2 K-8 schools that are magnet schools or offer magnet programs along with a traditional curriculum. To learn more about our magnet programs, click here.

READ MORE “District Headlines” stories on newsdesk 

Search for School
Find a School
School Locator

Locate your attendance area school

School Locator